Tags

, , ,

At Berlin Fashion Week S/S 13, I was very happy to see these two ladies wearing African inspired pieces.

I absolutely adored this lady’s African batik print jumpsuit-

I was very interested to learn that a brand called LaissezPasser, was behind this jumpsuit.  Laissez Passer are a New York based label, co-founded in 2009 by Lydia Holness and Nina Broeer. Lydia, of Jamaican and Canadian origins and Nina from Germany, the two met in Fort Greene, Brooklyn where they both live.

This eye-catching one-piece is one of the 9 jumpsuits that make up their Spring/Summer 2012 collection.  Each of the jumpsuits come in assorted Senegalese fabrics, and are limited editions.

S/S 12 Collection, Courtesy of Boldberlin.com

Not only do I love this collection and the inspiration behind it, I love how this brand came about.  It has always been my dream to have a good friend who shared my interest in fashion, and most particularly African and African inspired fashion, who I can start a business with.

I saw the next lady as I was waiting for the bus to leave Mercedes Benz Fashion Week-

The dress is from H & M, and I am always fond of seeing the giant high street stores sell African- inspired pieces like this because it highlights the fact that African and African-inspired pieces have great commercial viability.

After the shows, I excitedly told a friend about these Afrocentric trend spottings and he replied that he didn’t think he could pull of the trend.  And I told him that the trick to pulling of the Afrocentric trend is not to wear it from head to toe.

Case in point, the first lady added a casual, downtown New York vibe to her statement African print jumpsuit by pairing it with a denim jacket and a vintage leather bag.

The H & M creation goes a step further by ‘showing  both sides of the coin’, i.e by using 2 contrasting prints- one African and the other floral, the design cleverly melds both the African and Western aesthetic.

So readers is this a trend you would wear?  If so, how would you wear it?

