Tags

, , , , , , ,

One of my earlier posts was about me fashioning a jacket, having got the material from a Lagos market.  Whenever I wear it and people ask me where I bought it from, I always feel a certain smug satisfaction when I tell them that they can’t buy it anywhere in the world because it was designed by yours truly.

Recently, I had to admit that I lost the ‘D.I.Y style’ award to this fabulous lady who goes by the name, Titi.  Having spotted her statement ankara print jacket a mile off, I rushed to ask her where it was from and got a taste of my own medicine when she replied that she had designed it herself.

Like me, Titi got her ankara print material from a market in Lagos and she cleverly decided to give it a youthful and chic flair by adorning it with sequins, which she got from the same market.  Titi will be happy to know that she is bang on trend with this jacket as this A/W 2011 season, the waist has made a shapely return.  International designers like Rouland Mouret, Gucci, Valentino, Loewe and Emporio Armani  all sent their models down the catwalk in jackets that cinched and pinched their waists to hourglass perfection.

Alexis Carrington (character played by Joan Collins in the iconic ‘Dynasty’ TV Series, as if you didn’t know!) would adore the exaggerated shoulder detail, n’est ce pas?

Courtesy of vintage-lasdivas-blogspot.com

A clutch with a similar colour tone compliments the jacket-

What I love about this look is how Titi has managed to fuse two cultures, namely Western and African.  One of the great things about fashion is its ability to unite various traditions and styles in perfect harmony.  Titi illustrates this by modernising her African-inspired jacket by pairing it with a skinny belt from Topshop, bag from Reiss, leggings from Asda and shoes from New Look.

Ladies (and adventurous) gentlemen, my advice is to take yourself to your nearest market, buy some material and like Titi, bring out your inner Tom Ford.

