Tags

, , , , , , ,

When I first came to Berlin a few years back, it didn’t take me long to work out that Berlin women love their ink.  What I found particularly interesting was the more petite and ‘innocent looking’ the woman looked, the more ‘in your face’ her tattoo was.  I’m aware that London girls fly their tattoo flags high as well, but now I live in Berlin, from the considerable artful displays I’ve seen adorn the bodies of their female population, I think that Berlin girls fly theirs a tad higher.

When I’ve been out and about, I’ve always wanted to stop the Berliners I see with the most interesting tattoos, but so far, I haven’t had the guts.  For some reason, I find it easier to stop randoms on the street to take street style pics.  So I got very excited when during my fashion editorial shoot last week, I saw that the photographer’s assistant- Tintin Jonsson– had a mighty fine artistic display creeping up her arm, and I decided to pry into each one-

My Fashion S/ash Life- Talk me through your tattoos, which is the first one you got?

Tintin- That would be this old Irish-pattern tattoo I got when I was 16-

Tintin- I really wanted to get a tattoo at 16 and when I asked for my parents’ permission, my dad gave me his blessing- he is actually covered in tattoos, so he was like ‘Yeah, for sure, do it!’

My Fashion S/ash Life- What came next?

Tintin-  Then I got this roses friendship tattoo

My Fashion S/ash Life (laughs)- Wow, that must have been some friendship!  What came next?

Tintin- My whole family is Catholic, so I got this Virgin Mary tattoo

My Fashion S/ash Life- Well, you certainly found a more visually arresting alternative to going to church! Who out there inspires you when it comes to getting tattoos- apart from your father ofcourse!

Tintiin (laughs)- Actually, my dad has awful tattoos! I’m really inspired by the French tattoo artist called Guy Le Tatooer and he comes to Berlin every second month to do tattoos at the AKA shop.  The shop often has guest tattoo artists and it also doubles up as an art gallery.

I think Guy is amazing and he is famous for doing these Mandala, super detailed black and white tattoos and this is the Mandala tattoo he did for me-

My Fashion S/ash Life- What’s a Mandala tattoo?

Tintin- I think it has its roots in Hinduism/Buddhism and it’s when the tattoo starts at the centre and then goes out in shit-loads of detailed, repeated patterns.

My Fashion S/ash Life- Any plans to get more tattoos done?

Tintin- Yes, but although I love colour in general, I really want to focus on super-detailed black and white tattoos.

My Fashion S/ash Life- Do you plan to get these tattoos to follow-up your arm?

Tintin- Yes, I’m going to continue on my arm that already has tattoos and then I’m done.  I think!

