Tags

, , , , , ,

As 2011 comes to an end, I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting, well I’ve been trying to anyway.  One of the things I’ve been thinking about is my entrance into the blogging community.  I didn’t start reading blogs until I started my own in July 2011, since then one of the favourite things I like to do in my spare time is to peruse other people’s blogs (both non-fashion and fashion orientated).  I have found that certain moods I have dictate which blog I read, so-

1. When I’m feeling nosey and want to peer at length into someone’s wardrobe and get an insight into their life and perspective simultaneously, I go to Stylelikeu

Courtesy of Stylelikeu

Courtesy of Stylelikeu

What I love about this site is that (for a brief moment in time) I have access to some of the most creative and fantastic wardrobes in the world.  In fact, sometimes as I’m getting ready for a night out, instead of music I play Stylelikeu videos because they give me that extra confidence and set my mood for the night.  Also Stylelikeu is not just about style, one can get interior design, career, hair style ideas and so much more; I urge you to click and have a look yourself.

Courtesy of StylelikeuCourtesy of Stylelikeu

 

Courtesy of Stylelikeu

 
2. When it comes to Fashion D.I.Y, I am still making baby steps.  I can look at a piece of clothing and give ideas for how it can be customised or revived but I don’t have the skills to make those changes myself because as my textiles teacher said- sewing, knitting et al is not ‘my forte’.  Consequently, I like to look to others who use their nimble hands artfully to form memorable customised pieces.  One such nimble creative is Victoria who is behind the blog, Style Marmalade I love going on her blog to see how she fuses style, art, film, music and anything else that stirs her creative juices.  
Here is her interpretation of one of my favourite Johnny Depp films (on a side note, I miss 90’s Johnny, tsigh)- Edward Scissorhands

Victoria from Stylemarmalade

 
3. When it comes to Personal Style blogs, I prefer to go on the sites of bloggers that are not your typical ‘90210/Gossip Girl/Insert your own U.S Teenybopper show’ Slim.  I am not inspired when I see shots of these types staring vacuously into the camera lens, kudos to them for looking fab but I am not inspired by them.  Instead I am  more drawn to bloggers like Gabi from Gabifresh who show millions of plus-sized women that with the right attitude and confidence- size need not come in the way of style-

Courtesy of Gabifresh

 

Courtesy of Gabifresh

And may I just add here that I miss the former name of her blog which was- Young, Fat and Fabulous!
 
4. Since I started studying my Marketing Communications diploma, one of my  favourite modules so far has been Public Relations.  When I want to know what is happening in the world of Social Media, Crisis Communications and Media Relations, I head to PRDaily
 
5. When I feel like I should be learning more about what I put inside my body and getting tips on how to improve my diet, health and state of mind, I go to The Berlin Veganist, which was founded by Nicky Agunwa- who also happens to be a very close friend of mine.  The Berlin Winter is here to stay and that has increased my fondness for chocolate, but I’m hoping that one day (soon!) I will have the will power to make one of Nicky’s recommended healthy bites

Courtesy of The Berlin Veganist

 

Courtesy of The Berlin Veganist

 6. When it comes to the world of dating, it’s a jungle out there and no one shows that with more wit than CTS of the blog, 52FirstDates.  She shares dating tales with you that will make you guffaw, gasp and shudder as she regales you with tales about dates with men who have dogs ‘that don’t like black people’ and ones who allow themselves to be hypnotised by your bosoms.  Oh yes readers, sometimes men are stranger than fiction.
 
7. The Business of Fashion is a topic that I am still learning to be well versed on and to help me in that area, I go to the fashion blog of the Financial Times, Material World.  Material World is written by Vanessa Friedman, and I continue to be in awe of her journalist skills.
 
8. And finally, when I want to see living proof that age has nothing to do with style, I head to Advanced Style founded by Ari Seth Cohen.  In the words of Ru Paul, these older ladies are giving us Style Extravaganz-A!!

Courtesy of Advancedstyle

 

Courtesy of Advancedstyle

 

Courtesy of Advancedstyle

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
