Tags

,

I am sure all dessert lovers who either live or plan to visit Berlin, have asked themselves this question at one moment in time.   Well, my sweet-tooth friends, I have the answer- head to Katie’s Blue Cat cafe in Kreuzberg.

Since discovering this ‘Heaven on Earth’, although I live all the way in Prenzlauer Berg, I make it a point of duty to frequent the cafe as often as I can for their scrumptious home-made cookies, cakes, pies and cupcakes.

Yesterday, I met up with a friend and decided to try their New York cheesecake and you know that feeling when you eat something so delicious that you shut your eyes,  exhale, make some unintelligible sounds and for  a few brief moments all is right in the world?  Well that is how you feel when you try Katie’s Blue Cat cafe’s New York cheesecake.

Cheesecakes et moi have not always been the best of friends, because I often find the top layer so creamy and rich that I get queasy afterwards or the biscuit layer too stodgy.

I have in fact only enjoyed a New York Cheesecake twice in my life- once (ironically) in New York and the second time was at Katie’s Blue Cat.  And the main reasons for this was because the creamy top had just enough decadent lightness, whilst the biscuit base had a lovely, crumbly texture that melted in my mouth, thus creating the perfect balance and harmony of ‘hard and soft’.

I urge you to treat yourself in this cute, homely cafe if ever you get the chance!

Courtesy of Foodieinberlin.com

Courtesy of Foodieinberlin.com

