Tags

, ,

This week I was asked by a  PR company to take part in a fashion case study report, where I had to choose a key staple item in my wardrobe that I had got about 10 years ago, that I still wear to look stylish today.

I was very happy to take part in this case study as recycling clothes is my forte.  When I was much younger and understandably more clueless, I used to buy clothes regularly without giving much thought to what I was buying, whether it fit my shape and whether the piece had ‘seasonless power’.  Fast forward a heavy dollop of years later, I now focus more on quality as opposed to quantity and my wallet is far much happier for it.

The key staple item I chose was my beloved vintage, black lace prom dress which I bought ions ago in Portobello Market, London.  Throughout the years it has served me well, I hope the following images give you some ideas on how to make a dress in your wardrobe keep coming  back to life.

Apologies for most of the images not being full length, they were taken way before my blogging days and before I learnt the importance of being photographed, head to fabulously clad toe.

Look 1- ‘Young at Heart’

Every fashion connoisseur knows that black is far from boring.  I adore playing around with textures and metallics and so with this look, I let my statement vintage accessories give my lace black dress a playful, night-time edge.

Look 2- ‘All Grown up’

In contrast to the first ‘Young at Heart’ picture, in the image above, I am at a wedding where I had to be more ‘straight’ and ‘classic’.  So whilst breaking the ‘Never wear black to a wedding’ rule, I used pieces like a colourful fabricator and white jacket to ensure I didn’t look dour or funeral-like.

Look 3- ‘Playing Dress Up’

You can always count on a fur bolero jacket to revive an outfit.  Here my vintage, white bolero kept me feeling Cruella de Vil-fabulous all night long.

Look 4- ‘Off to the Ball’

Here I was going to a 70th Birthday bash that was being held at the Dorchester Hotel, London.  And in addition to that, I was going with my Papa which meant I had to turn down the Quirk and up the Classic Glam.  So for this event, I turned to my best friend, Mr Gold.

Which is your favourite look?

