Tags

, , , , ,

At the moment, international fashion week is upon us which means many a fashion insider is waiting with bated breadth to see how the Fall 2012 catwalk’s will unravel.

However in real-time we are in the middle of February and as I type this post, I look out to a clear blue sky and can hear the birds chirping madly, so dare I say from the notorious wintry climates of Berlin, that Spring is nigh?  I dare say I do, so currently I am more interested in Spring/Summer 2012.

My favourite trend of S/S 12 is the recurring statement print trend and each Spring/Summer season, I look to my favourite Print Connoisseurs like Holly Fulton, Duro Olowu, Ashish and  DVF, to see how they have interpreted the trend for the season.  Each of these designers illustrates this trend in different ways for instance, I find with Ashish you get a collage of youthful, colourful organized chaos whilst Duro Olowu and DVF tend to expertly mix and match their prints with a certain, signature elegance and sophistication.

I was also pleased to learn that DVF’s S/S 12 collection was inspired by Africa and in her words, ‘not colonial Africa and not Safari Africa but an Africa of today.’

I styled a fashion shoot not so long ago where I experimented with assorted prints, and like Erdem, Ashish, Duro Olowu and Christopher Kane; flowers played a key role in my motif.  And like DVF, all the while, I too wanted to show the ‘beauty’ of Africa.

Look 1

Look 2

Look 3

Look 4

Look 5

Look 6

Look 7

The amazing headpieces in Looks 2,3,4 and 6 were made by the very talented, milliner-extraordinare, Louis MarietteHis myriad of couture creations have been worn by an eclectic clientele and glamorous celebrities such as Jerry Hall, Alek Wek, Jodie Kidd, Isabell Kristensen, Sophie Dahl, Joan Collins, Dannii Minogue, Lady Gaga, Paris Hilton and Kate Moss.

So readers which of the above looks is your favourite?  Also all you Print & Colour aficionados how will you be wearing these trends this season?  I’d love to know!

Pictures courtesy of Marcelo Benfield.

