Tags

, ,

These were the (overly!) generous words that were uttered to me recently by a guy at a party.  Ladies, we all know the lengths a guy will go on a night out to erm, become ‘better acquainted’ with the opposite sex; but it was nice to be compared to the American singer and I gathered he was referring to the similar silhouette of our coiffuresJanelle’s signature hairstyle is to wear it in a retro pompadour fashion-

Courtesy of Curlynaturalme.blogspot.com

When I did my below hairstyle, I didn’t have Janelle in mind, I just wanted to do a style where my hair would be upswept at the sides and back, whilst my hair at the front would pack maximum volume, with the help of extensions of course

As I did this hairstyle I did feel rather guilty as I was supposed to be having my hair free, Afro-natural and out, so to assuage my guilt I decided to do cornrows at the back and use extensions at the front-

Janelle’s hair silhouette is a lot slicker and polished than mine-

Courtesy of Curlynaturalme.blogspot.com

And although I do love these hair shots of Janelle, I have always tended to model my hairstyles on Carrie Bradshaw (played by Sarah Jessica Parker)- when she wore her hair botticelli-esque as opposed to straightened- I loved the artful, organized messiness of it all.  So I prefer my hair silhoutte to look more bohemian and free.

Admittedly when I first got this hairstyle, I was a bit apprehensive of having all my hair away from my face, leaving my visage so ‘open’ and in sharp relief.  But I soon got into the swing of things and realised that the statement style gave me the confidence to experiment more with my makeup.  I also learnt to perfect my camera-pose as I realised that this hairstyle looks great when the head is tilted at an angle to the side.   Looks like Janelle is cottoned on to these facts as well.

Courtesy of GQ.com

