Tags

, , ,

Last week I styled a fashion shoot for an exciting project that I will be able to reveal once the site is launched, which should happen in a week.  It was my responsibility to decide the creative direction the shoot should take and I settled on one that would reference the 70’s and in particular the glamour and decadence that sprung from that decade.

The model who brought this shoot to life was Tarah Rodgers and the extremely talented and captivating Servullo Mendez, was the hair and make up artist for the day.

When Tarah walked through the studio doors, although she was very pretty I couldn’t help but think that she looked like the total opposite of what I imagined a Studio 54 vixen to resemble.  Her natural style seemed more Abercrombie & Fitch and less Jerry Hall or Diana Ross.

This was why about two hours into Servullo doing her hair and makeup, I was amazed when I had a peek into Servullo’s beauty corner and saw this sexy, confident and definite product of the Studio 54 era staring back at me (and giving me a Smize that Tyra Banks would have been proud of!)-

As the shoot went by and more hair and makeup changes were done, Tarah continued to surprise and impress me as she immersed herself fully into the alluring and fun character that was needed to make the shoot credible, inspirational and aspirational-

Of course it is a model’s job to fulfill the direction of the client and morph into whatever character that is thrown at her but what I loved about Tarah is even when the shots were taken, she still kept the same vibrant and playful energy in between the shots.

Everyone who has worked on a fashion shoot knows that it is all about team work, no matter how talented the hair and makeup artist is, his efforts will go to waste and come to nothing if the model he is working on is lifeless and doesn’t ‘bring it’ and vice versa; so it was a joy to work on a set where I could see and hear both the model and hair & makeup artist- in American High School slang- totally vibing of each other.

On a side note, although Servullo kept delivering strong look after even stronger look, this beauty look was my favourite of the day, as for me it fully encapsulated the era that continues to be a strong source of inpiration to me-

Tarah also very kindly allowed me to give her, her very first interview and I’ll be posting that in the next couple of days, so stay tuned to learn more about the Next Best Thing Coming Out Of Germany!

