Tags

, , ,

If you read my blog you will be familiar with this recurring section of my blog.  It is a topic I plan to keep doing if only because, I believe that there needs to be more of a positive reflection of African kids in the media.  Assembling pictures for this blog is so difficult because no matter how I phrase the search words on Google, I am bombarded with images of emaciated, barely clothed children surrounded by a swarm of flying insects.  Yes this problem exists in Africa.  Yes, the problem needs to be addressed, reinforced and so on.  But there is more to the state of African kids than that and both sides of the coin should be shown.  There is also the side that shows that African kids can be looked upon as a source of fashion and beauty inspiration.  Furthermore, the fact that many of them at such a young age can carry of such bold hair statement and style pieces is something that should be celebrated.  This is what I try to do with this section of my blog-

Courtesy of Pirouetteblog.com

Courtesy of Olukanye Adwest

Courtesy of Olukanye Adwest

Courtesy of Shadders.net

Naturalnigerian.com

Courtesy of Naturalnigerian.com

Courtesy of Pirouetteblog.com

I’d love to hear from mothers to  know the media sources they look to for clothing and hairstyle inspirations for their children.  Do you watch any particular TV stations? Do you read blogs?

