Tags

, , , , , ,

Yes, yes, I am totally supposed to be ‘away’ and not blogging at the moment but I woke up to a very interesting request and in my opinionan emergency!!-and I thought the best thing would be to share the request and my response on my blog, in case it helps others who have a similar query.  And furthermore, the topic is one that is very dear and important to me, and has become increasingly so since I moved to Berlin and the topic boys and girls is HAIR.

Although I will not be posting as frequently as I used to for the next few weeks or so, I will be coming back to  ‘my baby’, when I am especially compelled to do so.  And without further ado-

Hi Biki,

I came across your blog when doing some research for hair salons here in Berlin. I’m mixed /Caribbean and usually get my hair texturized, but I fly to London every few months to do it – clearly I cannot keep up that extravagant lifestyle! So I have been contemplating going to Ebony & Ivory as it’s pretty much the only place I’ve heard about.

You mentioned that you went and you had liked it – can you give me any more info on your experience there? They have no website, which makes me kind of suspect… can you give me any more info on it in general? I looked for it elsewhere on your blog and only found your other horrifying hair experience! Not exactly sure what info I’m looking for – reassurance, I guess? I’m extremely nervous about going to a salon here, but really cannot keep flying to London every two minutes as if I have some sort of trust fund!

Any info you can share would be much appreciated, and thanks for sharing on your blog!

Cheers, Liz

Dear Liz

First of all, thank you so much for reaching out to me in this way- your type of request is what gives me the fuel to continue with my blog; I want to help people by sharing my opinions and experiences- (which includes the good, the bad, and the very ugly!!)

Liz, I know exactly how you are feeling because one of my main concerns when I moved from London to Berlin, was whether I too would have to make frequent trips to London just for the sake of tending to my natural Afro hair; and just like you I didn’t want to rack up those costly air miles unnecessarily.

First of all let me reassure you that having had my hair done at Ebony & Ivory, this is one of the rare instances where a company not having a website does not attest to its performance and reputation.  Having been there a few times, I believe that the salon gets its customers based on the old-school way- word of mouth.  I for one got to know about the salon when being fed up with the many ‘ghetto’ hair salons I was encountering in Berlin and unencouraging/unhelpful opinions from friends; I was almost about to book my London ticket when (in sheer desperation!!) I stopped a lady on the street who I thought had nice, relaxed hair and asked her where she got her hair done; it was when she replied that her hair had been done at, ‘Ebony & Ivory’, and gave it rave reviews that I decided to take the plunge.

You mention that you are nervous about going into a hair salon in general in Berlin and you are looking for reassurance.  So, rest assured Liz you have nothing to worry about and I vouch for Ebony & Ivory for the following reasons-

1) No riDUNKulous waiting time: those of you who have had the joy of going to black hair salons regularly know what I mean by this!  I was pleasantly surprised that after booking an appointment with the receptionist (who was professional, again ladeeez, you know what I am talking about!!); I was pleased to discover that I only had to wait in the reception area for about 10 minutes before I was seen to.

2) Hygienic surroundings:  this is something that is of great importance when I am getting my hair done; I once visited a ‘hair salon’ in Berlin that not only did hair but sold food stuffs, house cleaning detergents, clothes and the mind-boggling like, and on top of all that cluttered jazz, when you entered the ‘salon’ your senses were overpowered by an all-consuming stench, needless to say I never got my hair done there.  Not only are the reception and hair areas in Ebony & Ivory ‘picture-ready’, their toilets are in good condition as well, and one does not have to wash their hands with Fairy liquid, or pull ’tissues’ from a crumpled,suspicious looking packet- ladies you know what I am talking about! Ebony & Ivory on the other hand, have a well furnished, clean, fresh smelling hair salon.  Can I get an Amen, followed by a Hallelu?

Courtesy of Latashaathomeabroad.blogspot.co.uk

Courtesy of Latashaathomeabroad.blogspot.co.uk

4) Great Service: This is also something I take seriously at hair salons, I have been to quite a number of hair salons where to book the appointment was like trying to go uphill in skates, and then upon entering the salon I have found out that the person who I had spoken to for almost an hour trying to simply explain that I wanted a ‘hair appointment for Tuesday at 10am’, hadn’t managed to translate and convert my simple wishes into an actual booking,  meaning that when I arrived at the salon, there was no record of my booking and I had to be fit into another, much later, hair appointment slot.  Infuriating.  There is none of that at Ebony & Ivory, from the professional receptionist, to the tidy receptionist area where instead of the common tatty magazines dated in 100BC, you are presented with up to date magazines that are intact.  Beware though, the owner- Deborah- loves Oprah and so there is a healthy supply of O magazine!!  Another thing that made me warm up to the salon, was I was offered a choice of beverages whilst I waited in the reception area and whilst I was doing my hair. It’s all about the finishing touches folks, and not only it comes to hair.

5) Price: That’s what it all comes down to, innit?  I am happy to report that in my opinion, Ebony & Ivory is good value for your moneyI wish I had a hair style price list to give you but I don’t, however I can tell you that when I had my natural hair washed, treated, styled and trimmed it cost about 35 euros, and without the trim I was told that it would have been below 30 euros.  I thought this was reasonable.

So that’s my review of Ebony & Ivory, I hope it was of use to you and encourages you to pick up that phone and book your appointment I would also advise you to ask for your hair to be done by Deborah- the owner of the salon, as she is the one who tended to my hair styling and trim the last time.

Good luck!

On a side note, I would like to give a special thanks to the blogger at Latashaathomeabroad.blogspot.co.uk, because upon finding that Ebony & Ivory had no website, it was her blog review post on the salon that encouraged me to go to Ebony & Ivory, and in the end she saved me a hell of a lot of airplane money!!

Ebony & Ivory- Potsdamer Strasse 158, 10785

Tel- (030) 2163749

