Tags

, , , , ,

I haven’t done a hair post in a while but now more than ever I am trying to improve the condition of my TWA (Teeny Weeny Afro).  This summer I began with such good hair intentions, my first plan was to read the three Afro hair books I was given by my darling sister, but one thing I’ve realised is that learning about and taking care of Afro hair takes a loooot of  hard work.  Honestly, I find it mostly exhausting when trying to absorb the knowledge.  So I have decided to just take a deep breadth and take things step by little step.

I came across this post on a Natural Hair blog I am following that gives 7 tips on how to manage a sensitive hairline and it was most informative-

http://blackgirllonghair.com/2012/08/7-tips-for-dealing-with-a-sensitive-hairline/

It was only this Summer that I got to touch another natural Afro in years and years (as most of my friends with Afro’s have it relaxed, braided or weaved up), and it was my mum’s.  In her 60s my mum has a thick, amazingly full Afro but it feels like a brillo pad.  My hair on the other hand is extremely soft and it is only now I realise that the softness means, it is extremely sensitive.  When I read the 7 tips from the above blog, I realised I was still currently going against most of the tips- the biggest culprit being tieing my hair up quite tightly.  I wouldn’t say I put my hair up so tightly that veins pop up at the sides of my temples, but I do feel a slight pressure when I put it up.

One way I have tried to remedy that is to wear my hair down as much as possible.  So last weekend, I took a deep breadth and instead of putting my hair up, I let my TWA flag fly.  I also took some pics of myself because all the books I am reading say I should keep a Hair Photo Diary

Now my Afro is actually much longer than this but I am trying not to blow dry it out (to protect my hair from the heat), so the curls at the moment are extremely tight and so veeery short.  And to still keep my ‘long in the front and short in the back’ look that I have been sporting since my move to Berlin, I kept my front cornrows in.

With this hairstyle, my hairline is getting some breathing space till my next cornrow style and there is no tension being put on my hair by way of a pinned updo hairstyle-

This is a hairstyle that I just wouldn’t have the guts to do in Lagos or London, but in Berlin (for whatever reason), I walk down the street like this with my head held high and I have to admit, there is a certain feeling of elation that comes with that freedom.

I strongly believe that the shorter your hair, the more your accessories have to be ‘on point’ (and general styling), so I am wearing my ethnic hair bands and silver statement earrings.

The makeup and jewellery on the following ladies illustrates my point further-

Courtesy of Thirstyroots.com

Courtesy of Naturalsunshine.ning.com

Solange Knowles, Courtesy of Essence.com

Courtesy of Curlynikkyforums.com

For now this hairstyle works for the Summer weather and the work I am doing, and I’m happy about that.  I have to admit that when I first entered the party with this hair I was a bit apprehensive, because every now and again there is this voice that questions whether I look ‘half-decent/erm, hot!!’ with my TWA.  But that little voice was quickly silenced when I had people coming up to me and taking my picture, I felt like a mini celebrity and I will always be grateful to Berlin for welcoming my TWA with open arms!!

And now back to you- do you have sensitive or very soft/fragile hair, if so how do you deal with it?  What hairstyles have you found work better with your hairtype?

