Tags

, , , , , ,

At last I can finally tell you all about this event!  For those of you who read my blog regularly, you will know I have been talking about how busy I was due to the project I was involved with during Berlin Fashion Week, A/W 13.

On Tuesday, 15th January, Berlin saw its first Africa and Africa-inspired fashion show- Africa Fashion Day Berlin, and I was the Head Stylist of the  Runway event. The event was in partnership with the official sponsors of Berlin Fashion Week- Mercedes Benz.

This position came with a lot of responsibilities, some of which were sourcing accessories for each of the 3 Runway designers, attending castings and fittings, assembling my team of assistants and dressers, deciding which model walked for each designer and much more.

At the moment, though I am experiencing pure, sheer and utter E-X-H-U-A-S-T-I-O-N, and wasn’t able to capture all my personal highlights of working for such a historical, landmark event; I can share one of my highlights from the show which was the-

Model Castings

So many great girls came for our castings, and here are just a handful of my favourites, I don’t remember all of their names but sometimes an image is more than enough-

Melanie W.-East/West Agency

She was by far, my favourite, with a smile that could put a sunny day to shame and an attitude to match.  I remember in one of my more stressful moments when I was chatting to her backstage she wisely told me, ‘At the end of the day this is all for something…’

010

Pepa- M4 Models

I adored this red head as did all of the designers-

Dominika, M4 Models

Justine, East/West Models

Roberta, M4 Models

Johanna, M4 Models

And the rest are some of the nameless beauties who walked for our show-

On a side note this lady is a shoe-in for a 90s slacker movie- you know Dazed & Confused, Empire Records…her bee stung lips, her wide- apart, doe eyes- Liz Tyler- hellooooo, I see it…

And now we move on to-

Model Off-Duty Style

The below models didn’t walk for AFDB, but I was pretty impressed by their  individual natural style.

As you will see from the below images- the Model Trend went Back to Black-

I’d like to give a big thank you to Jeffrey Santiaga aka Jeffrey My Love, who was our Model Coordinator- no easy feat, and he did a great job!

