Tags

, ,

Currently, I am digging up all my African and African-inspired work for a mega meeting I have this Thursday.
Whilst doing so, I had a flash back to an African-inspired editorial I styled about seven years ago, so pretty much at the beginning of my styling career.

The shoot was for an international magazine called, Colures which is now defunct, I hasten to add that it’s a pity it went bust because at the time it was in my opinion, the best African and African-inspired fashion glossy on the market.

Upon trying to dig up the images for this shoot, I realised that a lot of the original images were in London, so at the moment I am only able to show you 2 images, but they are still images worth showing:

I still remember the name of this fabulous necklace which I sourced from one of the most renowned traditional and tribal jewellery stores in the world:

The Beetle Necklace, Pebble London

The Beetle Necklace, Pebble London

I look at these images with a little smile, because it takes me back to a time when it was so much easier to get in touch and hear back from editors and PR’s were a lot more receptive to new talent. Case in point, for this editorial, though I had only been styling for about a year, I was still able to pull from heavy weights like Diana Von Furstenberg. Being a huge fan of print, I remember that at the time, I was constantly borrowing from her collection.

Jacket by Diane Von Furstenberg

Jacket by Diane Von Furstenberg

What I love about this editorial is that it shows that the trends more or less never change; the running theme I had with this shoot was clashing prints and cultures, and this theme still runs strong in fashion shows today. Don’t believe me? Just have a look at the S/S 13 catwalks of Print TrailBlazers like Mary Katrantzou, Alexander McQueen and Dries Van Noten.

Pictures: David Yeo

