Tags

, , , , , ,

Every now and again, I get a bit home sick…nostalgic…oh I don’t know- basically, without actually wanting to be in Nigeria at the moment, there are times when I miss certain things about Nigeria– the sense of humour, pidgin english, the constant parade of traditional outfits, smells of certain Naija foods…Also I don’t have many creative African friends, and so sometimes I feel really starved as I feel I don’t know enough about what ‘my’ creative people are doing, and this is where the below blogs come in:

1) Morocco-based blogger, Louis Philippe de Gagoue is a true product of the Slash generation being a blogger/stylist/personal shopper/law studentaha! you didn’t see that latter one coming did you? On a side note, what is with us lawyers and our passionate love affair with fashion? Anyhoo, back to the topic at hand, I recently stumbled upon Louis’s blog and the reason why I love it is because of the mix of great photography, interesting locations and his mix of eclectic clothing.

Courtesy of Louis Philippe de Gagoue

Courtesy of Louis Philippe de Gagoue

Courtesy of Louis Philippe de Gagoue

Courtesy of Louis Philippe de Gagoue

I also love his tongue in cheek way of dressing that shows a sense of humour and joie de vivre:

Courtesy of Louis Philippe de Gagoue.

Courtesy of Louis Philippe de Gagoue.

2) Nigerian blogger Preye, founder of My African Hairitage Style, I once met a bit of a mumu at a party, who declared that African hair could not grow past chin length, and he had learnt this fact from his Mama- now this was no kiddies party, I was talking to a grown-ass man.  Anyhoo, how I wish Preye had been there at that party to shake her Nigerian, bra-length, natural afro hair in his face!

Courtesy of Myafricanhairitagestyle.wordpress.com

Courtesy of Myafricanhairitagestyle.wordpress.com

I am a big fan of Preye’s blog because it does what it says on the tin- it acts as natural, afro hair inspiration, which I in particular really need as I recently went for a major chop in an attempt to eradicate about 20 years of damage I’ve done to my hair.  And right now its safe to say that my hair and I are fighting and that in some ways, Preye’s blog acts as a referee- there to blow the whistle, calm me down and give me a bit of hope.

Here she is rocking her natural twists:

Courtesy of Myafricanhairitagestyle.wordpress.com/

Courtesy of Myafricanhairitagestyle.wordpress.com/

I love this updo:

Courtesy of Myafricanhairitagestyle.wordpress.com/

Courtesy of Myafricanhairitagestyle.wordpress.com/

My favorite post of hers was one which she delivered recently where she wrote entirely in perfect pidgin english, not only was it mucho funno to read, but it also made me realise that my pidgin english speaking skills are incredibly poor…tsigh…

I’ll keep you posed of more of the great blogs I discover…

