Tags

, , , , ,

Short Afro With Flowr CombLast weekend, for the first time in my life- I went out on a night out with no hair cover up.  No turban, scarf, head wrap, wig and the like.  I was all me.  If you read my blog you will know that this was a very, very, very…B-I-G deal for me- but I did it!  And in the end, it felt so empowering and I got some of my most memorable compliments.

It took me a long time to get here.  I actually did a hair chop in Feb, and it had begun to grow but my daily hot blow drying soon saw my hair take a Dramatic Exit, and in exasperation I went for the Big Chop earlier on this month.

A few things got me to the mental place where I could leave the house with my TWA (Teeny Weeny Afro)- I would love to say that it all came from Inner Confidence, but this would be a lie and not to mention, bull shit.

What got me here was yes my growing confidence (in specific relation to accepting the fact I had a very short cut), plus a particular encounter with a much, much younger guy who in the words of Truth Hurts, (in So Addictive), ‘makes me glow’ plus discovering these sites which feature black girls with short hair- Black Girls With Beautifully Short Hair and Short Hairstyles for Black Women.

These three (or four) factors are helping/helped me overcome my: ‘I look like a Slave/Boy/Housegirl’ complex, and it’s still a work in progress, but all journeys start with a first step, and with these images, I do believe I have taken mine.

Have any of you ever done a really short cut before?  How did you deal with it, how did it make you feel- self-conscious or empowered? Which celebrities do you think fly the Short Hair Flag well?

