Tags

, , , ,

A few weeks ago, I watched this YouTube clip from a Naij Media Big Wig over here, Toke M.  It had me in hysterics, but underneath the humour was a huge dollop of truth. There is a Lagos Look and for the most part, if you want to play with the Big Boys and their Toys,you just have to get jiggy with it.

That’s why when I learnt (via The Kink and I) that The Kinky Apothecary was having a Pop Up Salon at The White Space last week Saturday; where amongst many Beauty Treats, I could get my make up done: I knew I had to book an appointment.

Fast forward to me sitting on my make up chair, heart beating with eager anticipation- I was so excited, FINAALLLY My ‘Lagos Drag Queen(esque)’ Make Over!!

Let me pause here to say that I was extra joyful because moments earlier, I bought a fab Raffia top courtesy of GREY, as they were having a sale at the Pop Up event!  Ps GREY is fast becoming one of my favourite Nigerian fashion brands.  I already bought a jacquard skirt of theirs last week, that I’m saving for New Years.

Ok, so back to me being on my chair- my make up that day was done by the Sacred Beauty team, specifically, Aremu Kazeem Yayah.

057

When he asked me what I wanted, I replied with great gusto that I craved the Big She-Bang, I wanted to look like one of the Bella Naija Wedding Belles.  Subtlety Was Out and In Yer Face was the way to go!  At the end of the day as Toke said, My Eyes Had To Be Speeeeeeaking!!!

Initially, Areemu wanted to go this route with my lippy, but I wasn’t for it-

So he changed it to this-

029(Make Up used: MAC Foundation NW47, SACRED Concealer (for contouring and highlighting), SACRED Mineralize Powder, SACRED Eyeshadow Palette (Gold, Purple and Black), MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Powder, SACRED Eyebrow pencil and Red Cherry Eyelashes)

The Make Up cost N7,000 with N1,000 of that for the lashes.

After my make over, I dashed around the space to capture what was going on-

047The lovely Uche from GREY (on the left)wearing a GREY ensemble. I’m loving that Tangerine Orange bag and her footwear.048052I am considering dying my hair but I’m holding back till I’m armed with all the info I need as my hair is super sensitive. The cutie on the right told me she used a random bleach in a hair store in the UK, that was actually meant for Caucasian hair. And luckily her, none of her hair has fallen out! 053I loved the art work and photography I saw-

056The fab Nibi in GREY. Ps my Raffia top is in the same design as the ensemble she is wearing- J’adore!

055059061Needless to say, I had so much fun getting my make up done. I did feel a twinge of discomfort as I don’t normally shovel so much make up on, but that soon melted with all the compliments I received. I must admit, when I looked into the mirror, I did feel very Drag-a-licious and ready to feature on RuPaul’s, Drag Race. Ladies, Start Your Engines!!

???????????????????????????????I had initially planned to have my Big Madame outfit and accessories to match this look, but I ended up running late for my appointment, so grabbed this dress from my Mama’s wardrobe.  I’m all about the colourful beading on the neckline.

043

???????????????????????????????It’s now time for the gratuitous, self indulgent Selfies!

072075All in all, it was a great concept and event. Being relatively ‘new’ in town, I really enjoyed the experience and it was also my first Pop Up event in Lagos.  I hope to go to more of such, at a similar standard.  Well Done Team!

On a separate note, its 2 days to Christmas- AAAAAHHH!! Where has the time gone?  I wish all of you a joyous Christmas. Hope you have lots of merry moments with your loved ones!

