Tags

, ,

A few weeks ago, I went to my first outdoor concert in Nigeria-  The Afropolitan Vibes Concert.  Set up by Ade Bantu, the concert takes place once a month in Lagos and aims to promote Africa’s live music talent.

bantucrew.us

bantucrew.us

I have to admit, as I walked to the entrance gate of the concert’s location (Freedom Park), I had a lot of fear in my heart.  I was shit-scared of attending a free concert in Lagos, thoughts were racing through my head like, ‘What would the security be like?’, ‘Would there be decent toilets?’, ‘What if it gets violent?’  And I have to say, I was so pleasantly surprised by the night, it was one of those few times when I felt like I was back in Berlin. The crowd were awesome, it was great to see such a diverse group- Africans, Germans, Americans et al- all grooving to the pulsating African beat.   There was a decent supply of drinks and lots of scrumptious food to go around. I even did a double take when I walked past a vegan kiosk.  We’ve come a long way with regards to entertainment: BRAVA AFROPOLITAN VIBES!!

My highlight of the night was being introduced to one of the live artists- Niniola.

bantucrew.us

bantucrew.us

She had so much charisma and energy on stage, and that combination interwoven with great vocal chords, meant she whipped the crowd into a frenzy.

Werunthings.com

Werunthings.com

And what did I wear? Oh this old thing…well sort of, as I’m pretty much living in this Ankara print skirt at the moment.

afro7Btw, my black and gold studded boots are by Faith (London), I looove them!

Check out Afropolitan’s Facebook page to know what’s up, down and under.

