Tags

, , , , ,

The history of the turban goes back a long fabulous way.  In fashion, the turban (or draped turban)can be traced back to at least the 18th century.  In the early 20th century, it grew to be commonly known as a symbol of Eastern Glamour.  However, in the 60s and 70s, with the help of designers like Biba and Halston: turbans became a popular accessory amongst Hollywood’s glamorous elite.  Trendsetters and shakers like Barabara Streisland, Elizabeth Taylor, Bianca Jagger and Sophia Loren paved the way for glamour by punctuating their outfits with turbans. At the moment, I’m really feeling the aura and impact of the ‘Glamorous Turban’.  If you follow my blog, you’ll know I’m obsessed with buying Ankara print materials and fashioning them into various shapes and sizes on my head.  However, the particular turbans I’m obsessed with at the moment are from a different beast.  Case in point, see below: 026As the 70s is one of my Go-To decades for fashion, I’m currently channeling Glamozonians like Barabara Streisand by pinning a brooch on my turbans.

noglitternoglory.com

noglitternoglory.com

047

Ps I wore this turban to a party in Lagos, Nigeria recently and guys kept calling me ‘Jasmine’ (from Walt Disney’s, Aladdin):Honey, I’ll take it! For me, turbans are a Spring/Summer MUST- HAVE.   Why?  Well, let me throw a few of their good points at you: 1) This elegant accessory is as cheap as chips, but doesn’t look it: especially when you pin a brooch or feather on them.  In Nigeria, my turbans cost me N2,000 a pop (roughly 6 pounds).  If you look to Asos, their turbans range from about 6 to 10 pounds.  2) Turbans alluringly cover up a bad hair day or a ‘I can’t be arsed to style my hair’ day. 3) Turbans fit any season.  I do prefer them in Spring/Summer as I just think, ‘French Riviera Poolside Glamour’, but turbans can be easily worn in the Autumn/Winter. I mean, they cover your ears, helllooooo… If I haven’t managed to convince you to invest in a turban this season, maybe the chic factor oozing out of these turban-wearing ladies will.

Iddavanmunster.blogspot.com

Iddavanmunster.blogspot.com

turban2

Sydnestyle.com

Noglitternoglory.com

Noglitternoglory.com

Noglitternoglory.com

Noglitternoglory.com

Icovetthee.wordpress.com

Icovetthee.wordpress.com

So now I’ve convinced you to join the Fab Turban Posse for Spring/Summer, it’s a good time to tell you that ASOS is currently selling an assorted mix of turbans.  As stated, they range between 6 to 10 pounds. Get Shopping People: http://www.asos.com/search/turbans?hrd=1&q=turbans

