Tags

, , , , ,

A few weeks ago, I did a blog post on Nigerian wedding, Aso & Ebi styles. My inspiration for this was I had been invited to a Nigerian wedding and for the first time in my life, I wanted to Go Naija Native.  I had this grand plan of choosing a style I liked, buying the fabrics and then getting a tailor to whip me up my first customised Naija Wedding creation.  However a lil’ problem namely-an anorexic wallet-meant I had to go back to the drawing board.  Well to my mother’s drawing board anyway.

Having attended weddings now for donkey decades, my mama (very conveniently) has an assortment of One Size blouses and wrappers with draw strings, so it meant I had a lot of choice.

I ended up opting for a black (embellished with sequins and lace, baby) and gold number. The 70/80s child in me loves that combination.  In the days leading up to the event, I was majorly worried about the outfit because it was so damn uncomfortable and restrictive!  So much so, that I decided that I needed armour to help me get through the pain.  And by armour, I mean make-up. And by that I mean: I got a make-up artist involved!

And without further ado, here’s the end result.

014017004Going Naija Native, was an experience I’ll never forget.  On the good side, wearing the wrapper made me feel like a demure geisha, as I walked, the constriction of the attire forced me to take small lady-like steps, my back was straighter and my head was tilted higher.  I have to admit, as corny as it sounds, I did feel deliciously ‘Nigerian’. Now lets talk negatives: don’t be fooled by the smile on my face in each pic, every pore on my body was oozing with sweat (yes, nice), when the gele was not tumbling off my head, it was giving me a damn headache!!  I could go on but why bother, you get the uncomfortable picture!

As much fun as it was playing the Naija Native Girl, and seeing the coooote glee on my mother’s face when she saw me all Nigerian’d Up: it will be a long time before I step into a blouse and wrapper contraption EVER AGAIN!!

Luckily, there are so many traditional alternatives when it comes to Nigerian weddings, I don’t have to wear a wrapper and blouse (with long sleeves!).  Here are some other gold aso-ebi styles I’ve my beady eyes on:

Bellanaija.com

Bellanaija.com

Fashionpoliceng.com

Fashionpoliceng.com

Anyhoo, back to me:

005I’m currently obsessed with punctuating my outfits with my/Ma’s red patent Prada’s: it gives that unexpected POW-Factor and makes my ensembles not so matchey-matchey.

What do you think of my Naija makeover? Do you have any upcoming weddings? What are you planning on wearing? Do tell, I’d love to know!

