Tags

, , ,

On 9th July, I attended PREMIUM Exhibitions- an international fashion trade show- that takes place twice each year during fashion week in Berlin.  It’s a hell of an event, packed with various designers (fashion and accessories) from all over the world exhibiting their products in individual stalls.

I attended the event because I had been commissioned by Berlin-based, SUPERIOR magazine to interview the African designers who were showing their S/S 16 collections, under the initiative Africa Fashion Day Berlin (AFDB).

The 3 designers showing were: Adama Paris (based in Dakar, Senegal), Gloria Wavumunno (Kampala, Uganda) and Alexandra Tamele (Berlin, Germany).

I had a fun time interviewing the designers, learning about the inspiration behind their individual collections, their different journeys, obstacles faced and so on.

I can’t give too much away because it will all be broken down when the article is out, which I will post here for you Lovelies.

Until then, here are some of the pictures I took at the event.

Designer, Adama Paris and I. Isn’t she so beautiful, she’s been in the business for about 13 years, but doesn’t look a day over 21!  As I interviewed her, I was almost hypnotized by all that radiance…Bitch. Ha!

014In making her highly feminine collection rich in pinks and embellishment: Adama Paris was inspired by a cosmopolitan African woman who enjoyed going out.

020Designer, Gloria Wavumunno.

004Gloria told me that she was inspired by her rural surroundings in Kampala when making her collection. For instance she translated the marshmallow-white clouds into puffy white pieces and used ‘Nature Colours’ like moss green.

019Designer, Alexandra Tamale didn’t make the interview, nevertheless, here is her collection.

018I loved the colours used in her collection and I need her multi-coloured print jacket (featured below) in my life.

005Loving how the lady on the far right piled on her over-sized Ankara print bracelets.

009This lady’s style brought a huge smile to my face…I just love a woman who does a damn good job fusing African prints with a Western aesthetic.

001From the clothes racks, what do you think of the collections by the 3 designers?

