Tags

, , ,

Today was pretty surreal, I went to the BBC’s Headquarters to have a meeting with one of their senior broadcaster journalists.  He works for their weekly programme, ‘Focus on Africa’.  For those of you who may not be familiar with BBC television, suffice to say (or read Wiki say), ‘It’s a service of the British Broadcasting Corporation. The corporation, which has operated in the United Kingdom under the terms of a Royal charter since 1927, has produced television programmes from its own studios since 1932′, also let’s not forget that The BBC ranks, ‘… as one of the world’s largest television production companies.’

Ok.  So.  You get why I was so excited to go their offices. I chose this outfit:

010I bought this blue kimono last year (from Primark!!!) and since then its been nestling in my wardrobe longing for its day out, and today I gave it, its first outing.  I have to say, sometimes Primark can surprise you…

011014I just love the frayed detailing on the tail hem of the kimono…

All in all, it was a productive meeting and he told me something I’ll pass on to any of you who want to get into television broadcasting. Apparently, it’s wise to get your own YouTube channel to use as a showreel.  AaAAGH! This stresses me out because it’s been on my mind for ages to set up my own YouTube channel, but between my work for the school, hosting and producing a TV show, blogging, personal life, hobbies- how will I find the time? Setting up a YouTube channel is no biggie, the problem is sustaining it with entertaining REGULAR content…

I was such a geek in their offices and I didn’t care, I mean this is the network that has produced some of my favourite TV shows like Absolutely Fabulous and The Apprentice.  So before I left, I got all Tourist-Like and asked for this picture:

016017

Ensemble Credits: Kimono (Primark),   Vest (Topshop), Skirt (Topshop), Bag (Gift), Rings and Belt (Port Harcourt Boutique), Necklace: (Tatler), Shoes (Prada)

Over to you guys, how many of you have their own YouTube channel? If you have one, what would you say are the benefits of setting one up? Also if you don’t have one, would you like to or what’s stopping you?

That aside, I hope your week has started well!

