Tags

, , , , , ,

Today is my BIIIIRTHDAY Peeps!! And to celebrate, I bring you an article I’ve wanted to do for ages.  If you follow my blog you’ll know I do a ‘He Got Style’ series, well today I’m focusing on My Creative Partner In Crime- Daniel Obasi.

If you read one of my recent articles, you’ll have seen that I said we would be collaborating soon.  WelLLLlllLL, here it is! For his Personal Style shoot, I arranged to use one of my favourite hang out spots in Lagos, Bogobiri House.

Before Lights!Camera!Action!, I revved Daniel up with some grub:

002Ok, I can’t resist this side note, Bogobiri House is an African-inspired boutique hotel with a restaurant and bar.  I adore the eclectic decor, the furniture, art work…the rustic and bohemian layout…how fab is this painting of the bus.  It totally captures the Hustle & Bustle, Do or Die nature of Lagos.

Nigerian Art PaintingsDaniel describes himself as, ‘a student/creative director of his concept website urbanecoven.com/stylist/photographer newbie’.  He also provides web design, graphics and management consultancy services to brands.  Yes, he is 21 and #Hussln’!

African Wooden ArmchairSomehow, I managed not to steal this glorious wooden armchair and we proceeded to take more shots outside. Bogobiri is a photographer’s dream: every nook and cranny presents a colourful and unique backdrop to take pictures.

Orange Culture Sandals030I almost died when I saw the artwork on this gate- LOOOOVE!- and it partnered nicely with the print work on Daniel’s shirt. Don’t you love it when your location and clothes co-ordinate, tsigh….

035050043Credits: Print top: Vintage, Shorts: Gift, Sandals: Orange Culture, Bracelets and watch: Gifts.

I’ve always been intrigued to know where men go shopping in Lagos, as to my little knowledge, it seems most of the popular stores cater to womenswear. Also I’m very interested in where the New Gen shop, Daniel told me that he mostly shops online or in thrift stores. The lucky bugger also cites designers as friends, so he tends to get one-of-a-kind pieces from them as well.   He also loves the idea of his wardrobe bulging with pieces from Alexander Wang, Dior, Prada, Adidas Originals, Acne Studios, Maxivive and Orange Culture.

Unisex Black and White Monochrome Top066Daniel describes his style as, ‘Minimal, Simple and Edgy’, I just call him Mr Monochrome, as I mostly see him in muted tones of blacks, whites and greys.

065075Erm, I’ll take those clay pots to go pls…

Credits: Top: Treason, Trousers: Maxivive.

Black Top and Black Shorts099When I asked Daniel what inspires his style he said that in general culture, literature and the season inspire him, and when I prodded for more information, he added that was inspired by the Koreans and nomads and their love for loose fitting clothes.  He also claimed to be drawn to the modern way of dressing in Asian culture, particularly in how it embraced minimal and toned down colours. He added that he was intent on creating his, ‘own way of expression without being or trying to be like someone else.’

097098Credits: Jumper: Maxivie, Shorts: Gift.

I really had one of my best days in Lagos in a loooong time taking these pictures and just hanging out in general with Daniel. I leave Lagos next week and his creative energy and style will be missed.

One of the nice things about being in Lagos this time around was having a great subject that my camera could play with…I really love photography and I’m happy I brought my ‘proper camera’ with me, this time around.

Aaaand back to you, which outfit do you like the best? What do you think of monochrome style on men?

If you like Daniel’s swaaaag, Follow him on :Instagram and Twitter: @iamdasidy and peruse his conceptual site here.

And now I’m off to celebrate my many years of being on this earth! Erm, actually, I’m about to go to Silverbird TV to upload Part 1 of my TV Show on their YouTube channel- AAaaaaaAAaaAAGHH!

 

 

