Tags

, , , , , ,

On Sunday 21st February 2016, I went to Kristian Aadnevik’s A/W 2016 show.  The duo behind the label are London-based Norwegian designer Kristian and his wife Hila and together they work with sumptuous fabrics like leather, lace, fur and lavish embellishments to create striking pieces; in ode to that I decided to get my Glam On for the night:

Fur bolero and faux leather A Line SkirtGrace Vagabond bootsOf all the plethora of shows on offer during LFW, this show remains one of my favourite.  Not only do I adore the brand’s exquisite craftsmanship and  consistency with creating luxe pieces with a sensual rock n roll edge, I happen to know Kristian and have had the pleasure of working with him when I was a full-time stylist.

Last night, I thoroughly enjoyed watching the A/W show which carried the enchanting title, ‘The Winter Garden’.  Said to be inspired by the ‘raw and wild nature of a mystical winter garden’, this translated into pieces carrying seductive floating shades of midnight blue, green, black, soft nudes and delicate dark prints; all interwoven with the brand’s trademark use of leather, metallic, lace and fur adornments.

To watch a video clip of the show click here.

Back in the day, a lot of the front magazine covers I bagged featured model’s wearing one of Kristian Aadnevik pieces:

Sublime Magazin (Print), Dress: Kristian Aadnevik, Stylist: Biki J, Photographer: Marcelo Benfield

Sublime Magazin (Print), Dress: Kristian Aadnevik, Stylist: Biki J, Photographer: Marcelo Benfield

Due to the Editorial-Fabulousness of the brand’s pieces, Kristian Aadnevik’s creations have graced the covers of many an iconic magazine: Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar, Elle, INDIE the list goes on…And as you can imagine, the label is also a hit with celebrities and stylish models alike:

Kylie Minogue

Kylie Minogue

Model, Chanel Iman

Model, Chanel Iman

Kristian is one of those rare finds in the industry, he is talented and yet approachable and charming.  I remember stepping into his atelier in Fulham road years ago….lil’ me was just starting my styling career and I did feel rather dwarfed surrounded by awesome pieces that had been worn by iconic women like Madonna, Rihanna, JLo, Beyonce… and yet there were no airs and graces with Kristian and he and his team made my pulls/selection process a real pleasure.  Last season, I couldn’t make his show and sent my sister instead and she came back home gushing about how she had enjoyed the show and talking to him….

Thanks Kristian, Hila and the rest of the team for a fantastic show!

To see pieces from Kristian Aadnevik’s latest A/W 2016 collection and familiarise yourself with the label, click on the brand’s Facebook Page here.

Kristian Aadnevik and his gorgeous family

L to R: Silver, Kristian and Hila Aadnevik

Shop My Look

Beige fur bolero (Sold out): Peekaboo Vintage London, Black polo neck: Zara, Black pleather skirt (Sold out): Cici London, Boots: Vagabond, Bag (Sold out): Michael Kors

 

